Richard L. Schilsky CALGB Achievement Award Sponsors

Abbott Astellas AstraZeneca Celgene Eisai EMD Serono

Trinidad Ajazi, MM Jane M. Armer, PhD Nancy L. Bartlett, MD Donald A. Berry, PhD Monica Bertagnolli, MD Clara Bloomfield, MD Denise Brennan Daniel R. Budman, MD. Harold J. Burstein, MD, PhD Lisa A. Carev, MD Andrew J. Carroll III, PhD Marc L. Citron, MD Harvey Jay Cohen, MD Debra Condon Nancy Daly Anthony D'Amico, MD Todd L. Demmy, MD Kandie Dempsey, MS, RN Lynn G. Dressler, PhD James A. Eastham, MD Martin J. Edelman, MD Merrill Egorin, MD Karen Elarde-McCuaig Stewart Fleishman, MD Gini Fleming, MD Stephen L. George, PhD Stephen Graziano, MD John Grecula, MD Mark Green, MD Stephen Grubbs, MD Dr. & Mrs. Hans Grunwald Olwen M. Hahn, MD Susan Halabi, PhD Daniel F. Haves Debra Herzan Donna Hollis, MS Clifford A Hudis MD David D. Hurd, MD Mark Hurwitz, MD David Ilson, MD Ralph Johnson

Sin-Ho Jung, PhD

Genzyme Oncology Millennium Pharmaceuticals Novartis OSI Pharmaceuticals Pfizer Oncology Sanofi-Aventis

Philip W. Kantoff, MD M. Margaret Kemeny, MD Jeffrey J. Kirshner, MD Leslie J. Kohman, MD Jonathan Kolitz, MD Robert Kratzke, MD Ann LaCasce, MD Anand S. Lagoo, MD Richard A. Larson, MD John P. Leonard, MD Dr. & Mrs. Eric Lester Ellis G. Levine, MD Alan P. Lyss, MD Mark L. Maitland, MD, PhD James R. Marshall, MD James L. Mohler, MD Daniel M. Moore, Jr. Dr. & Mrs. Hyman Muss Donna Niedzwiecki, PhD Herbert Pang, PhD Barbara Parker, MD Ann H. Partridae, MD David J. Peace, MD Porterfield Family Foundation Kanti R. Rai, MD Karen Sartell Beth & Steven Schilsky Deborah Schraa, MD Katherine Shea Perry Shen, MD. Mary A. Sherrell, MA Lawrence N. Shulman, MD William Sikov, MD Lewis Silverman, MD Stephen Solomon, MD Wendy Stock, MD University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill c/o Richard Goldbera, MD Daniel Vaena, MD Everett Vokes, MD William Walsh, MD Eric Winer, MD



2012 RICHARD L. SCHILSKY Cancer and Leukemia Group B ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Presented by the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology Foundation for Contributions to Cancer Research

Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology **FOUNDATION**

The Richard L. Schilsky Cancer and Leukemia Group B Achievement Award was established in 2010 to recognize the 15-year tenure of Dr. Schilsky as Group Chair of CALGB. The award acknowledges the significant contributions of an individual to cooperative group research. As an organization, it is vital for the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology to identify and honor the talented people responsible for its success. This award is made possible through generous donations from our members and industry supporters. It is presented each year during the Plenary Session of the Alliance Group Meeting.

2012 Award Recipient Clara D. Bloomfield, MD



Clara D. Bloomfield, MD, is a
Distinguished University Professor
at The Ohio State University (OSU)
and holder of the William Greenville
Pace III Endowed Chair in Cancer
Research. She is the inaugural OSU
Cancer Scholar and Senior Advisor to
the OSU Comprehensive Cancer

Center and The Arthur G James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute. Dr. Bloomfield is an internationally recognized clinical scientist whose nearly 40 years of groundbreaking research on adult leukemia and lymphoma, described in over 900 publications, have changed the way we think about these diseases and treat these patients.

She pioneered the use of biologic characteristics of neoplastic cells for selecting appropriate curative therapy for individual patients. She first suggested and demonstrated that adults with acute leukemia, including the elderly, could be cured with chemotherapy. She also showed that certain groups of leukemia patients, defined in particular by genetic characteristics of the leukemia, required intensive therapy for cure, while others could be cured with standard approaches. Her study of chromosomes in leukemia and lymphoma has had enormous impact by aiding in identifying genes involved in development of these disorders and the application of this information for effective therapy for individual patients. She first identified several now classic chromosome changes in leukemia and lymphoma, for example, the Philadelphia chromosome in acute lymphoblastic leukemia and rearrangement of 16q22 in acute myeloid leukemia (AML). She is considered the world's authority on how chromosome changes influence treatment and outcome in adult acute leukemia.

Recently Dr. Bloomfield has been the driving force in identifying novel molecular prognostic markers in AML. She helped initiate the first use of gene array analysis of transcription to classify leukemias and continues to do pioneering work in the area of gene and microRNA expression profiling. Her work has resulted in the current World Health Organization (WHO) classification of hematologic malignancies, and the use of genetics for individualized therapy in leukemia and lymphoma in the most widely used cancer clinical guidelines—those of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN)— and for AML the European LeukemiaNet guidelines.

The recipient of many prestigious honors, Dr. Bloomfield is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and of the American Academy of Arts & Sciencies, and recipient of the 2004 Joseph H. Burchenal Clinical Research Award of the AACR, the 2006 ASCO Distinguished Service Award for Scientific Achievement, the 2008 Henry M. Stratton Medal of the American Society of Hematology, and the 2009 David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award of the ASCO.